The Maine State Library provides Digital Maine Library (DML), https://library.digitalmaine.org/, a platform that provides access to thousands of magazines, newspapers, references, and many other useful resources, free to all Maine residents. There's something for everyone on DML, from young kids to adults, job seekers to hobbyists, entrepreneurs to genealogists, there are resources to help patrons explore, learn, innovate, and advance. There are also many excellent resources for librarians to use daily in their jobs.
DML has recently undergone a renovation due to a Request for Proposals (RFP) process as required by the State of Maine. As a result of the RFP, DML has transitioned away from Gale resources to a robust EBSCO package of resources. Some of DML's stand alone resources will also change as a result of an upcoming additional RFP process. This LibGuide will include updates to the changes as well as talking points for patrons. It will also provide training opportunities and promotional materials to help librarians and educators learn about the new resources and share them with their patrons and students.
After a lot of changes in 2024, Digital Maine Library continues to undergo renovation. Most recently:
Still to come in spring 2025, an encyclopedia will be added to DML as soon as one is selected through the RFP process. We will provide training and promotional materials for that resource as well as soon as possible.
Additional resources may be added in 2025 depending on budgetary concerns.
During the Digital Maine Library renovation, four of the stand alone resources sunsetted on July 1, 2024. Here are talking points for patrons asking for them:
Value Line
Thanks for your interest in Value Line. Value Line is not currently available in Digital Maine Library (DML). We are currently undergoing a Request for Proposal process right now for a number of online resources including an investment research tool. Once complete, we will add resources as our budget allows and according to priorities set by a task force of librarians with input from library staff statewide.
ProQuest Newsstream, Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and Maine newspapers
Thanks for your interest in ProQuest Newsstream/WSJ/NYT/Maine newspaper resources. Great news, ProQuest US Newsstream has been added to Digital Maine Library, accessible to anyone in the state! This resource provides full text coverage of WSJ, NYT, Boston Globe, all 5 of Maine's major daily newspapers, and many more US news outlets.
World Book
Thanks for your interest in the World Book encyclopedia in Digital Maine Library (DML). Currently DML does not include World Book. We are working hard to add an encyclopedia back to DML through the State's procurement system. We expect to have an encyclopedia sometime in the winter of 2024.
There are a wide variety of robust resources for students in our new EBSCO package of resources. This includes Funk & Wagnall's Encyclopedia, which provides the rich content of an encyclopedia though it is not provided in the same visually appealing, child-friendly way as World Book. Explora for Primary Schools offers a wide range of resources appropriate for younger children.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Thanks for your interest in the Gale Literature Resource Center. This resource has sunsetted in Digital Maine Library (DML). Starting September 1, 2024, DML will include robust literary resources as part of its new lineup of EBSCO resources.
These EBSCO resources are now available statewide in Digital Maine Library. When available, the database name links to the full title list as indicated by blue text (title lists are subject to change).
Training and promotional materials for all of these EBSCO resources can be found at https://dmlsupport.stacksplatform.com/.
Digital Maine Library has so many great resources! Please spread the word in your communities and to your partners with these resources. Don't see something you need? Please contact us! beth.crist@maine.gov.
Gale to EBSCO Resource Crosswalk
|
Category |
If you used this Gale resource… |
…Use this EBSCO resource |
|
General interest |
|
|
|
|
Chilton Library |
Auto Repair Source |
|
|
Gale Legal Forms |
Legal Information Source |
|
|
Gale Literary Sources |
Literary Reference Plus; Biography Reference Source |
|
|
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) ebooks |
Many EBSCO resources have associated ebook collections |
|
|
Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection |
Hobbies & Crafts Source |
|
|
General OneFile |
MasterFILE Complete |
|
|
Health & Wellness Resource Center |
Consumer Health Complete; Alt Health Watch |
|
|
Home Improvement Collection |
Home Improvement Source |
|
|
Insurance and Liability Collection |
Business Source Complete |
|
|
Leadership and Management |
MasterFILE Complete; Business Source Complete |
|
|
Pop Culture Collection |
MasterFILE Complete |
|
|
Popular Magazines |
MasterFILE Complete |
|
Newspapers |
|
|
|
|
Newsstand |
Newspaper Source Plus |
|
Readers Advisory |
|
|
|
|
Books & Authors |
NoveList Plus; NoveList K-8 Plus |
|
PreK-12 |
|
|
|
|
Educator's Reference Complete |
Professional Development Collection; ERIC; Teacher Reference Center |
|
|
In Context: Elementary School |
Primary Search |
|
|
In Context: Middle School |
Middle Search Plus; Read It! |
|
|
In Context: High School |
MAS Complete; Biography Reference Source; History Reference Source; Literary Reference Plus; Poetry and Short Story Reference Source; Science Reference Source; Read It! |
|
|
In Context: Opposing Viewpoints |
Points of View Reference Source |
|
|
National Geographic Kids |
Cricket Media Collection |
|
Academic Resources |
|
|
|
|
Academic OneFile |
Academic Search Complete |
|
|
Agriculture Collection |
Academic Search Complete |
|
|
Business Economics and Theory |
Business Source Complete |
|
|
Communications and Mass Media Collection |
Academic Search Complete |
|
|
Criminal Justice Collection |
Academic Search Complete |
|
|
Culinary Arts Collection |
Food Science Source; Associates Programs Source Plus |
|
|
Diversity Studies Collection |
Humanities Source; Exploring Race in Society |
|
|
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection |
Environment Complete; GreenFILE |
|
|
Fine Arts and Music Collection |
Academic Search Complete |
|
|
Gender Studies Collection |
Humanities Source |
|
|
General Science Collection |
Applied Science and Technology Source; Engineering Source |
|
|
Health Reference Center Academic |
Health Source: Nursing-Academic Edition; MEDLINE with Full Text |
|
|
Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection |
Academic Search Complete; Associates Programs Source Plus |
|
|
In Context: College |
Academic Search Complete |
|
|
Information Science and Library Issues Collection |
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) |
|
|
Informe Academico |
No corresponding resource |
|
|
Military and Intelligence Database |
Academic Search Complete |
|
|
Nursing and Allied Health Collection |
Health Source: Nursing-Academic Edition; MEDLINE with Full Text |
|
|
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection |
Health Source: Nursing-Academic Edition; MEDLINE with Full Text |
|
|
Psychology Collection |
Academic Search Complete |
|
|
Religion and Philosophy Collection |
Academic Search Complete |
|
|
U.S. History Collection |
Academic Search Complete |
|
|
War and Terrorism Collection |
Academic Search Complete |
|
|
World History Collection |
Academic Search Complete |
|
Small Business Resources |
|
|
|
|
Business Collection |
Small Business Source |
|
|
Entrepreneurship |
Entrepreneurial Studies Source |
|
Career, College, and Workforce Resources |
||
|
|
Vocations and Careers Collection |
Learning Express Library Complete; Vocational & Career Collection |
