Public libraries in Maine who have formed a legal basis of employment and who have met the definition of a public library as set forth by the Maine Library Commission might wish to join the Maine Regional Library System. A condition of application for libraries is a commitment to continuously improve library services using the Maine Public Library Benchmarks.
The Benchmarks are a tiered checklist for Emerging, Enhanced, and Exemplary libraries. They list best practices for library operations and services with examples.
Libraries have fulfilled the Emerging Level and will be issued a digital badge when 20 out of 24 benchmark indicators have been achieved:
1) The library is a non-profit organization with a governing board with written bylaws which
OR
Is a town department that operates under the policies, procedures, and oversight of the town’s governing body
2) The library’s governing body (either governing board or the town manager/select board) hires the library director and
3) The library’s governing body
4) The library’s governing body ensures that accurate library statistics and financial records are kept, and that both statistics and financial records are incorporated into a written annual report made to the community
5) The library has at least one well maintained public restroom on site
6) The library has an established and published schedule in which services of the staff are available to the public year-round of no less than 15 hours per week
7) The library has an exterior sign which clearly identifies the building as a library
8) The library provides public 24/7 WIFI access and use of a good quality printer
9) The library has written policies and procedures addressing active threat emergency responses that is reviewed yearly with staff and volunteers
10) The library director is responsible for the full administration of library services including but not limited to finances, policies, selection of materials, collection development, programs, and staff and volunteer management
11) The library invests in continuous training and professional development opportunities for staff to ensure they are equipped with the skills and knowledge necessary to meet evolving community needs
12) At least one library staff member currently holds or is working on obtaining one of the following:
13) The library director measures and evaluates the effectiveness of library services and programs in relation to the changing needs of the community
14) The library staff weeds the collection on a regular schedule according to a professionally accepted method such as the CREW method
15) The library
16) The library provides an up-to-date automated catalog (ILS) searchable by patrons that adheres to internationally recognized professional standards for classification and subject organization
17) The library maintains communication with community leaders, interest groups, agencies, etc. and regularly informs them of library activities
18) The library offers monthly scheduled public programming such as story times, book clubs, author visits, game nights, technology workshops, fitness classes, etc.
19) The library has an up-to-date web presence
20) The library maintains and implements an advocacy plan that promotes services in the wider community
21) The library regularly communicates with stakeholders to keep them informed about library initiatives, successes, and challenges
22) The library adheres to fair use and copyright laws
23) The library uses library resources responsibly and efficiently, maximizing their impact and value to the community
24) The library creates safe and welcoming spaces where individuals feel comfortable expressing themselves and engaging in intellectual exploration, free from harassment, discrimination, or intimidation
Libraries have fulfilled the Enhanced Level and will be issued a digital badge when the Emerging Level and 21 out of 26 Enhanced Level benchmark indicators have been achieved:
25) The governing body and director are covered by Directors and Officers Liability and General Liability Insurance
26) Bylaws are reviewed at least every 3-5 years
27) The libraries policies are reviewed every 3-5 years
28) The library uses a formal planning process, by which the governing body works with the director to develop a written strategic plan that includes time frames and is reviewed and updated annually
29) The library has an established schedule in which the services of the staff extend their operating hours beyond standard business hours, including weekends and evenings, to accommodate the diverse schedules of community members
30) For safety and security reasons, the library has at least 2 people (one may be a volunteer), scheduled at all times the library is open
31) The library director budgets and schedules time for staff attendance at continuing education events, and has a written policy outlining this support
32) At least one library staff member currently holds or is working on obtaining one of the following:
33) The library's governing body compensates library staff competitively and, in doing so, will consider benchmarks such as pay scales for comparable positions and labor statistics
34) The library has a dedicated space, useable for a variety of purposes such as programming, meetings, studying, exhibits, etc.
35) The library has an internal disaster plan outlining procedures to follow in case of fire, water or other damage to the collection or building
36) The library implements environmentally sustainable practices, such as energy-efficient lighting, recycling programs, and eco-friendly building designs, to minimize their environmental footprint
37) The library addresses community needs and offers specialized services and resources tailored to the needs of vulnerable populations, including children, seniors, immigrants, individuals with disabilities, and low-income households
38) The library actively engages with the community through outreach programs, partnerships with local organizations, and participation in community events to address specific needs and interests
39) Average collections budget has increased over the past 3 years
40) The library maintains a comprehensive digital collection, offering a wide range of e-materials, online databases, and digital archives accessible remotely to patrons
41) The library curates diverse collections that reflect the demographics and interests of the community, including materials in multiple languages, LGBTQ+ literature, and resources that represent diverse perspectives
42) The library cooperates with other libraries to coordinate collection development, programming, and loan policies where appropriate
43) The library develops innovative programming that goes beyond traditional book clubs and story times, providing access to cutting-edge technology and incorporating activities such as coding workshops, maker spaces, entrepreneurship programs, and cultural events
44) The library engages in active advocacy efforts to secure adequate funding and support from local government, stakeholders, and community members to sustain and expand library services
45) The library cultivates strong relationships with elected officials, policymakers, and other influential individuals in the community
46) The library employs a variety of communication channels to reach diverse audiences, such as traditional media (newspapers, radio, television), social media, email newsletters, and community bulletin boards
47) The library proactively reaches out to underserved populations and implements outreach initiatives to address barriers to access
48) The library adheres to ethical codes of conduct and professional standards established by library associations and governing bodies
49) The library fosters an environment that encourages open dialogue, critical thinking, and respectful discourse among patrons and staff
50) The library exercises fiscal responsibility in budget requests, spending, and resource allocation, ensuring transparency and accountability in financial management practices
Libraries have fulfilled the Exemplary Level and will be issued a digital badge when the Enhanced Level and 22 out of 27 Exemplary Level benchmark indicators have been achieved:
51) The library establishes an endowment or sustainability fund to ensure long-term financial stability and resilience, allowing them to continue providing exemplary services and programs for future generations
52) At least one library board member attends a minimum of one statewide or regional library activity each year
53) The library director and/or board members attend town municipal government entity meetings several times a year in addition to the annual budget presentation
54) The governing body conducts a self-evaluation every 3-5 years
55) The library has a fully developed website
56) The library has a written employee handbook outlining the organization's policies, procedures, expectations, and benefits.
57) The library provides benefits to library staff including but not limited to paid vacation, sick leave, health insurance, and retirement.
58) The library director budgets and schedules staff attendance at continuing education events and meetings as presenters, mentors, and subject specialists
59) At least one library staff member currently holds or is working on obtaining one of the following:
66) The library has an established schedule in which library services extend beyond the physical campus e.g. bookmobile, home delivery, rotating collections at day cares and senior centers, library lockers, book vending machines, etc.
67) Average collections budget consistently increases each year
68) The library offers monthly scheduled public programming such as story times, book clubs, etc. with dedicated program funds included in the budget
69) The library serves as a cultural hub, preserving and celebrating local heritage, traditions, and cultural diversity through archival collections, exhibitions, oral history projects, and community events
70) The library serves as a hub for research and development, fostering innovation and collaboration among researchers, entrepreneurs, educators, and community members
71) The library optimizes statewide reciprocal borrowing and resource sharing practices
72) The library receives regional, state, or national recognition and awards for excellence in library services, programming, innovation, and community engagement
73) The library board advocates to ensure the library has the necessary funding, resources, and community support to provide quality services to the public; essentially acting as the voice of the library to decision-makers, advocating for its needs and highlighting the vital role it plays within the community
74) The library hosts public events, workshops, and forums as a way to raise awareness about library services and gather input from community members
75) The library forges relationships with schools, universities, businesses, nonprofit organizations, and other community stakeholders to amplify your advocacy efforts
76) The library collects and shares aggregate data on library usage, program attendance, circulation statistics, and other metrics that are used to demonstrate the library's impact and return on investment
77) The library serves as a model for safe, accessible, and inclusive practices in all aspects of library operations, programming, and services
